The Summer Reading Series – Kayla

As promised earlier, I am starting a summer reading series today on my blog. This will be a series of interviews, guest blog posts and surveys on what people are reading—book discussion. I’m looking forward to hearing from a wide variety of readers. First up, we have Kayla. Kayla was the first to respond to my call-out for interviewees this morning. Thanks for volunteering, Kayla! 

KC: What book are you currently reading and in what format (ebook/paperback/hardcover)?

KAYLA: Homer – The Odyssey, in paperback.

KC: Do you prefer ebooks, paperbacks or hardcover? Or are you happy with a mix of all three?

KAYLA: I prefer hardbacks for aesthetic reasons (and for when I’d like to read a book upon publication), and then paperbacks. I don’t do ebooks at all.

KC: There seems to be a lot of discussion lately on the ebook front. Passionate discussion. Thanks for weighing in. Where do you shop for your books (online, favourite bookstore, anywhere)?

KAYLA: Anywhere I can find them, really. I’m a compulsive book-buyer, so would probably buy one from my local convenience store if I could! I would say it’s split 50/50 between online and bookstores. I would like to buy more from charity stores, however.

KC: What a great answer! Spoken like a true book-junkie. You have a captive audience! This is your chance to tell them what books they absolutely NEED to read. What books would you passionately recommend to them? And Why?

KAYLA: First and foremost – Fernando Pessoa’s The Book of Disquiet. I think it captures absolutely everything a tormented soul (which he conveys is more common than we like to think) is comprised of.

Love in the Time of Cholera (Gabriel Garcia Marquez) for its beautifully lyrical language; and then Blindness (Jose Saramago), because of the sheer talent a novel of this nature must require to be pulled off so well.

KC: What are you dying to read this summer? Give us some titles you know you’re going to be reading over the summer months.

KAYLA: Kurt Vonnegut’s ‘Slaughterhouse Fivebecause I keep seeing quotes for it absolutely everywhere. And a few Bertrand Russell and Jean-Paul Sartre books, because I’m starting a philosophy course next year and am a bit rusty. I set myself the challenge of reading 52 books this year, and upon completion of ‘The Odyssey’, will be halfway through, so I’m excited to rack up my numbers during the sunny months.

KC: I’m excited for you to read Slaughterhouse now. I adore that book! What are your TOP 3 favourite Book Covers of all time?

KAYLA:

KC: Top 5 Book Characters?

KAYLA:

KC: Awesome group of characters! And who is your favourite villain  – character in a book? And why?

KAYLA: I’d have to say Lord Henry from The Picture of Dorian Gray, because he’s not your conventional ‘villain’. He is arguably the reason for Dorian’s demise, but not, in my eyes, for any bad reason. I love the way that the blame is shifted from himself to Dorian, so in the end, it looks like Dorian has always been the reason for his own demise.

KC: I really love that answer. I’m a big fan of Dorian Gray. Great answer! If you could ask any Author 3 questions, what would you ask them?

KAYLA: 

  • Who do you write for?
  • Do you write yourself into your work?
  • What is your favourite novel?

KC: My own favourite question to ask authors is what their favourite novel is. I feel it gives you a great insight into them, and maybe their motivation. What is your favourite genre/market and why? What other genres/markets do you read in?

KAYLA: I don’t really read genre fiction. 

KC: If you were shipwrecked on a desert island what 3 books would you want with you?

KAYLA: 

  • Schopenhauer’s Essays and Aphorisms
  • The Book of Disquiet – Fernando Pessoa
  • A book of Morse code/rescue communications?

KC: Okay, in all the times I have seen that question asked and answered I have never seen your third response. Brilliant! What book have you re-read most often?

KAYLA: Schopenhauer’s Essays and Aphorisms

KC: Your favourite childhood book…the one that turned you on to reading in the first place?

KAYLA: I wouldn’t have a clue!

KC: Do you blog about every book you read, or just books that particularly fascinate you?

KAYLA: It was supposed to be every book I read, but now it’s barely anything. Something has to really grab me, and that last something was The Book of Disquiet.

KC: Is there a particular book you know you will never read? Why?

KAYLA: Fifty Shades of Grey. I hate the uproar.

KC: I can’t say I hate that answer! (-: Any new authors out there you’re really falling in love with? Tell us about them.

KAYLA: Christie Watson was brilliant for her first novel ‘Tiny Sunbirds Far Away‘.

KC: Book trailers? Love them or hate them? Or are you indifferent?

KAYLA: I Don’t really see many.

KC: Do you have pet peeves when reading? Something that consistently bugs you about books/authors, etc? 

KAYLA: I hate it when the author is sloppy with dialogue and introduces too many characters. 

KC: How many books do you read in a month – roughly?

KAYLA: About 4-6. 

KC: Share with my readers where they can find you online:

KAYLA:

My blog: www.lovekayla.com

My Goodreads page: MissThomas

Twitter: _ieatbooks

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your reading life with us, Kayla! I see that our reading paths have crossed on a few occasions. And I’m also happy that I have some suggestions to look up. (Love your Twitter handle, too!) I really appreciate the time you spent with us! Happy reading!

(Out of deference to Kayla’s no ebooks preference, I’ve linked all her discussed books to paperback editions.)

Leave a Reply

